Monday, July 25, 2011

"but now they won't know there's something at the end!"

Saturday was apparently a rough night at the Sticky Shoe. A local lady, a regular, decided to call me out in front of the entire crowd after the show during the credits for "turning the lights on prematurely." hmmm.. As I walked to the back of the theater to check that the doors were securely closed, she said, "Now people won't know there is something at the end, you have to turn the lights off!" loud enough for everyone getting into their cars to hear. Keep in mind, these are dollar-theater lights, so only 2 of 4 actually work, and those 2 only emit about a small flashlight amount of illumination. I jokingly told her that the lights automatically come on, so to take it up with Universal pictures or Paramount. She didn't laugh. After the 30 second "special ending clip" she came into the lobby to further "let me have it." She used the same argument as before, but added that it was unfair and mean of me to not tell them there is a small clip at the very end of the credits. Am I crazy, or is their own repsonsibility to sit there in anticipation and hope there is something to leave them hanging until the sequel comes out? So I responded to her by saying, "Many people don't want to stay, especially after the late show, and for safety reasons they need to be able to see how to get out (we don't have any floor illumination, it burnt up recently)". I went on to say, "For a dollar-fifty, I can't please everyone". She thinks I am a really mean person. I think its nice when everyone leaves quickly so I can go home. Take that poo poo face. Even the large theaters turn some lights on as soon as the credits roll.

No comments:

Post a Comment